2013 Testimonials.

"Quality is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, intelligent direction and skilled execution. It represents the wise choice of many" Author Unknown

 

Practitioner Definition

 

 

Dear Ms. Stimson and Ms. Biot-Gordon,

On behalf of American Senior Communities, I would like to endorse the National Council of Certified Dementia Practitioners.

I have had the pleasure of being both a Certified Dementia Practitioner and Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer for approximately a full decade. In that time, I have used the NCCDP Alzheimer's and Dementia Education curriculum to provide training to hundreds of dementia care team members on behalf of two LTC providers; teaching others to better serve elders living with various forms of dementia with greater efficacy and compassion.

I have found this organization to act consistently with the highest level of professionalism, integrity, and customer service.  Most impressive is your continued involvement in the day to day operations of the organization, Sandra and Lynn, as you continue to assist in the service of those of us offering education in the public and professional sectors, by personally answering emails, and making phone calls to provide assistance and resolve challenges as they occur.

ASC Memory Care remains steadfast in our commitment to utilizing NCCDP products, and we were pleased to add two additional Regional CADDCT's to our Home Office Memory Care Support team this past December.  We added the additional trainers so that we may better reach more of our care community team members in the service of our elders living with A.D. and related forms of dementia.  We will also be introducing the Support Group leader certification in our Memory Care Weekly Message tomorrow, 3/26/18, that will reach all our ASC Memory Care, Community, and Regional leaders within our company to encourage them to take advantage of this exciting new certification opportunity.

Thank you for the provision of your excellent dementia training curricula, and for your support of our efforts. We look forward to future and long-lasting collaborative efforts as we continue to expand our service energies across the state of Indiana, and potentially, beyond.

Most gratefully and sincerely,

Melanie K. Perry, M.S., CDP, CADDCT
Director of Memory Care Support Services
American Senior Communities 

---------------------------------------------------

 

Train the Trainer Class
Alzheimer's disease and Dementia Care Class
December 13th 2013
Nashville TN
Instructor: Sandra Stimson CALA ADC AC-BC CDP CDCM CADDCT
NCCDP Corporate Trainer 

"I appreciated the update regarding AD research, updated glossary of terms, I will draw upon the information from each module as applicable for care givers, particularly examples which will allow the staff to gain knowledge."
Patricia Caron MS CADDCT CDP Regional Vice President of Operations Morning Pointe Assisted Living

"Very informative, lots of resources introduced and can use to help me understand about managing common dementia issues, speaker provided clear picture of important matters that happens in different settings. Reality orientation, excellent communication strategy to earn patients trust and make them feel comfortable in order to help patient to participate in exercise program." Physical Therapist

"learned lots of extra tips and side bar notes that help with personal marketing as share marketing tips with others." Administrator
add testimonials

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Class
Raleigh NC
December 10th 2013
Instructor: Danielle Micale MHA LNHA CDT CADDCT CDCM
NCCDP Corporate Trainer


"Learning about the marketing aspect was very helpful to feel prepared to be successful. Information was well organized. I learned ways to help staff at LTC facilities improve their ability to provide good person centered care. Learning the skills to help them improve their knowledge. Improving the quality of life for our residents in LTC. Provide training to as many facilities as possible in NC."
Cindy Englert MA CDP
Regional Ombudsman Centralina Area on Aging

"I learned about -How to allot time for each chapter, how to charge, setting rates, different resources available to you, very helpful, how to determine what you want to do with your instructor certification, how to obtain ceus if you going to offer them, how to approach end of life issues, be up front, loved it How to approach subject of sexuality and to be respectful, marketing ideas extremely helpful."
Sarah Emmons RN CDP CADDCT
Assistant Director of Clinical Services
Parkview Nursing and Rehab Center  

"Interventions on various dementia related topics. Very helpful information on sexuality, programming, dining." Social Worker Activity Professional

"The presenter kept the entire seminar interacting with each person there. She kept the audience engaged. I learned honestly, that a person can die from Alzheimer's disease. This is information that I can take back to my patients and family." RN

"Everything was good." Nurses Aide

"Danielle was very prepared. Reinforced much of the knowledge of I have and increased it significantly." LPN

"Instructor was able to relate topics to real life situations. The whole day was interactive, we were allowed and encouraged to speak, ask questions and offer advise to other participants. Wide range of topics were covered, felt each topic was well covered.   Effective communication, person centered care, behaviors, excellent tips and tricks in each topic, particularly with being in a facility or things to tell the caregiver. Thank you for so much wonderful class and very well presented." Certified Senior Advisors, Family and community relations director 

"I was pleased that the seminar polished what I already knew. I learned and became more interested in intimacy and sexuality in aging."  Activity Professional

"There were so many areas that would be beneficial on home visits for aids for families. I learned that I am on the right track with person centered care. I learned of another type of dementia. I learned many things and many things were validated that we already are doing. I also learned new ideas for programming. such as activities." Activity Professional

"I enjoyed the education pertaining to emotional memory. I learned about elopement procedures, our center will start to develop, family orientation will start regularly scheduled family oriented, New activities, bird feeding activities, I need to be asking, what disease is causing the dementia, genetic testing is available, need to get more person centered information at initially,. RN

" Great seminar, lots of information, can take home information and learn more, hard to get off for 2 days, much education needed for caregivers, staff, need to write some better policies, love the feeling group. absolutely great meeting, cant wait to take the Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer class and my life's mission to share knowledge.  DON 

"I was pleased in the amount of information received, and the web sites that was provided. Setting up a memorial service is something that stuck with me. In my facility it was very much hush hush." Activity Professional.

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
and
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar
Orlando Florida
12-4-13

"Presentation style was clear and informative. Information was very helpful for all staff and topics in order that built upon one another. I learned specific tips and examples were useful in thinking about different situations and are relatable to my facility. The experience and knowledge base of the presenter is helpful in stimulating more creative ideas for how to best work with my staff and improve the quality of my life of my residents."
Rev Linn Possell M Dir MS CDP CADDCT Resource Coordinator Autumn House

"I was very pleased with the volume of resources given." LPN Assisted Living Administrator

"Held my interest, informational, Resources, tactics, and best practices when dealing with dementia and Alzheimer's clients." Geriatric Care Manager

"Sandy was wonderful. Refreshed my knowledge of Alzheimer's disease and dementia's much more. Excellent training." Geriatric Care Manager

"Very informational. Plan to pursue the train the trainer class." Nursing Home Administrator Social Worker

"I liked the information on the numerous resources. The information presented reinforced my knowledge of dementia's. I liked the activity ideas." Social Worker

"It was very pleasant. I liked the different activity ideas and all the resources." Nurse's Aide

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class Corporate Training
Promedica
Goerlich Center
November 12th 2013
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Lynn Biot Gordon 
MSW LCSW CDP CADDCT

"This was very informational and enjoyable. Thank you for this day!" CTRS
"Very relevant content. Learned specific information on wandering." Administrator
"Thank you for your expertise!" DON
"I liked the stories. I learned more specific dementia information. I will use to train the staff." RN

Hi Sandra,
I just wanted to say thank you again for your presentation on Nov 1st.  I looked quickly over all the evaluations and there was much satisfaction with your presentation and with you!  So thank you again, it was lovely to meet you and perhaps we will do this again one year.  Sandra, you mentioned that we could get free downloads on some other articles, so we have to join Nccdp first in order to do that?
Thanks

Maureen Etkin
Regional Consultant, CentralWest
Mississauga, ON

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Class
San Francisco Airport
October 19th 2013
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Lynn Biot Gordon 
MSW LCSW CDP CADDCT

"Pleased with content. The resources listed will be a hue benefit to leading my staff and offering ongoing relevant in-services." Assisted Living Administrator

"I was very pleased through out the whole seminar. I learned a lot about activities and wandering. I learned some valuable lessons." CNA

"Never stop nurturing the spirit (I learned). I learned about Scent log." LPN

"I learned about activities." Administrator

"I was pleased with all of the modules. I will apply everything! Thank you Lynn, I want more classes with you!" CTRS

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Seminar and
Alzheimer's disease and Dementia Care Seminar
September 26th 2013
Columbus Ohio
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Danielle Micale MHA LNHA CTRS CDP

"The entire seminar was informative and very worthwhile. All employees should attend the seminar. I learned different strategies and approaches to caring with those with Alzheimer's and dementia. Also validated what I already knew. The care of the Alzheimer's resident should be person centered with all staff members  participating in the care plan."
Angie Kadowaki CDP 
Corporate Life Director American House Senior Living

" Speaker was extremely engaging and knowledgeable. She showed a lot of inspirational compassion for the disease process. There was not a boring moment. I was pleased with the compassion of the instructor. A lot of times you attend a seminar and the instructor seems knowledgeable but burnt out and is disinterested. I was pleased this was not the case. My favorite topics were elopement, wandering, sexual because I learned a lot about differences and the correlations between depression and dementia."  
Christina Casper BSW SSD CDP
Alzheimer's Program Director
Green Valley Care Center
Life Care Centers of America

"Danielle was excellent and knowledgeable presenter. I learned a lot about the psychological aspects and I will present this to our staff."
John J Dziewit MS CRC LMHC CDP
President CEO
Venture Forthe Inc

"Pleased with the sexuality section -it is becoming prevalent issue and needs to be addressed. Presenter was direct and did not tip toe around it. The train the trainer piece was all new information and will be implemented in my upcoming training sessions."
Kristen Morelli BS ADC CDP
Memory Care Program Manager
Montefiore

"The instructor is very knowledgeable of the topic and has a good technique of teaching. I learned when you know better you do better."  
Teresita S Miller RN CDP
Unit Manager of Memory Care

"After going through the program and sitting on 4 CDP programs and worrying with be repetitious, it was very informative and Learned different techniques. Danielle held my attention and kept it fun. I learned about ceus, record keeping and different seminars offered."
Daphne Massaro CDP
Adult Day Program Director
Community at Parkvue

"Thank you very much! Very personal and I enjoyed the heartfelt personal experiences. I enjoyed the entire day. Appreciate the visual presentations and kept our interest all day. I felt the personal connection. great day. I appreciate the honest on sincerity. The material is so helpful. I feel very confident on my 1st journey of presenting. Looking forward to educating employees where I work. I am going to implement information at facility. 
Tonya West LSW CAD CDP
Director of Resident Services
Mery McCauley Center

"Enjoyed all the materials, books, etc. Appreciated personal stories provided. Loved the specific ideas, ex fruit in water, pitcher or container to make more appealing, etc."
Annette Casey LNHA CDP
Oakwood Village

"Thanks for the organized content and format. Resources such as sensory room."
Amy Krug CDP

"I appreciated receiving the materials needed to teach the course. I appreciate the many facets of Alzheimer's Disease and dementia care that are included and the thorough way it is covered. The tips on trainings related to being a trainer."   
Nancy Van Wyk RN RAC-CT CDP
Hearthstone Ministry of Wesley Life 

"I really enjoyed the seminar and listening to Danielle speak. She has a lot of experiences to share which adds a personal component to the course. I stayed engaged and interested the entire time. I learned how to better hand behaviors with residents with dementia and will be able to take this information and knowledge with me to the facility I work for and share with the employees."
Jennifer Allred RN CDP
Unit Manager
Normandy Manor

"The seminar was very interesting! The content of this seminar can be easily applied to my practice. The train the trainer content is new and will be used to educate others in dementia care."
Sherrie Ingles RN BAS CDP

"Danielle obviously has practical as well as education experience to support her speaking. She is dynamic and engaging. I loved the story about the facility creating a room for a male resident that included a single bed and dresser to remind him o his wife and what he was accustomed to at home."
"Margaret Pilgram RN CDP
Director of Learning and Development
Home Instead Senior Care

"The seminar was very reality based with a very human touch. It was functional learning not just academic. I learned new information regarding wandering and safety as elopement happens."
Deanna Kelly Rieser CDP
Professional Geriatric Care Manager
Mentors in Eldercare

The presenter was well educated, had great practical experience and was very realistic. She obviously is passionate about this field. I learned with wandering and elopement concerns will be able to implement specific ideas for problems exits in our building."  RN

"The presenter had personal and professional experience with Alzheimer's and dementia and offered great examples, stories, ways to remember certain tactics, etc. I took something from each chapter / part of this training. I have learned too much to put on this paper." Social Worker

"Excellent!  Pleased with person centered aspects. Interventions for behaviors and non pharmacological approaches. How to incorporate person centered care into front line staff's mentality." RN

"The fact that they never lose their problem solving skills. I learned a lot of different activities to do with my residents." Activity Professional

"Forum was very open and honest. I learned that behaviors I have observed in day to day work is easier to understand and I feel I can improve my approach to care of my residents." Nurses Aide

---------------------------------------

Iron County Medical Care Facility
September 25th and 26th 2013
Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Seminar
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar
Corporate Trainer: Sandra Stimson CADDCT CALA ADC A-BC CDP CDCM

"The presentation was well organized and presented in a very professional manner. The speaker was very knowledge le in the area of dementia care. The personal stories and experiences that she shared brought realism to the entire training. The train the trainer presentation helped to prepare me to provide Alzheimer's disease and dementia training. The seminar prepared me to provide the training to other health care professionals. It taught me to look at all aspects of the person to fully understand how this disease has impacted his or her life by understanding the social aspects including past history the caregiver will be able to gain a personalized plan of care for the dementia residents. This training will open new opportunities for us as trainer and consultant." Jill Nocerini Nurse Practitioner

"I am thrilled with the person centered care initiative that was presented. I am pleased that people suffering with dementia and Alzheimer's are being seen as individuals and no longer just a disease. I have learned just how it can happen. I plan on working hard to build a team of caregivers that will practice what I have learned today and continue to educate myself for the improved care of our residents." Erica Tarter Trainer 

"Instructor was extremely precise and gave excellent ideas o how to better our facility. Very pleasant and educational. I learned more ways to better care and control behaviors of our residents. How just some simple changes offered to our resident care better their over all health. Eating habits, social interaction etc, can improve." Jody Sliva Trainer 

"I found the whole seminar a great learning experience, it was done at a steady pace with real life situations mentioned which helped to visualize how to put everything in effect. New ideas to keep behaviors from escalating, will use them myself so others can see for themselves that they can work." RN

"I learned elopement risks and putting up signs on the door "stop for the safety of our residents please insure the door is closed" Nurse's Aide

"I loved the whole thing. Very educational. Kept us well informed and made time pass quickly. How to diffuse situations like when they are in a different time." Nurses Aide

"It was great. How to cue a resident needs based on behaviors, Possible ways to reduce behaviors I learned." Nurses Aide 

"It was all awesome. I really like taking the time with the residents suggestion it is really important." Nurses Aide

"All support services that maintenance and housekeeping can contribute to the success of the dementia problem. I learned multi task that will help secure facilities to avoid elopement and facilitate a better tracking of the resident. Protecting dementia wards and enhancing safety to contribute to decorations that would stimulate dementia resident in the facility. Director of Physical Plant

"I was pleased with knowledge. Be positive, take your time, think of there feelings, talk clearly and direct about things." Nurses Aide 

"I liked the fact you started out with the fundamentals different types of dementia and that idea that not all residents are the same. The fact that you worked in the industry and was able to relate to our work day really helped connect with the audience. I learned to never stop learning." Nurses Aide

"Nothing was disappointing. I liked all of the examples of services. I liked the different web sites to further support our learning." RN

I was pleased to hear techniques of how to react to a patient who is look for a deceased family member or friend. I learned various approaches for different residents; redirection techniques or how to deal with resident behaviors." LPN  

"I found the whole seminar very interesting. Couldn't pull out just one area of it. How to be a more productive aide towards my residents." Nurses Aide

"I learned how to respond better to residents repetitive questions, not to use wet signs and use better cleaning ways." House Keeper

"I learned about web sites, resources, put yourself in their reality." Nurses Aide

"I liked all of the examples she gave and related course materials to real life experiences and examples. Also the activities helped keep my interest. How to handle situations involving residents with dementia Alzheimer's and also what not to do." RN

"It was very informative. I have learned to better communicate with Dementia Alzheimer's residents." COTA

"Speaker was knowledgeable, i learned different ways to talk to the residents." LPN  

"Suggested many references to use! Too much information. Activity ideas for more live feed sites." Activity Professional

"Learned how to properly look for a resident who elopes. Learning about dementia" Nursing Aide

" I really enjoyed the entire seminar. There was so much information. I just wish we had more time to talk about specific behaviors and interventions. Great presentation. Thank you so much." Social Worker

"The specific details in different scenarios was fantastic all the wonderful ideas have really motivated me . Thank you! I have 25 years of experience and I found this fresh and new. How to creatively redirect residents and how to understand behavior that is really attempting to communicate. " Activity Professional

"Presentator was knowledgeable and attention grabbing and fun. You always have to be patient with the resident. " Nurses Aide

"Liked all of the seminar." Nurses Aide

"Sandy was amazing. I learned so much, I learned different ways to approach staff" RN

"I enjoyed all aspects of this seminar and I found it very informational. I am eager to check out all the resources provided and use some of the tools that were brought to us." Nurse's Aide

"I learned how to respond to sexual behavior and what not to say. I learned how to approach residents and what to say when trying to find out what they need when they can't communicate well." PTA

"I learned different ways to communicate with dementia residents." LPN

"I loved it. I am so excited to implement these tools into our daily activity program. And share things we have learned. I learned new ideas to use with those with dementia. I loved the approaches and suggestions. This is going to be so helpful in seeing each one of our residents for the individuals they are." Activity Professional

"I learned better ways to redirect residents with dementia." Nurse's Aide

"I learned how to handle the residents with dementia and how to redirect behaviors." Activity Professional

"The whole seminar was very informative in all aspects. I learned more about how to understand the residents better and how to help them get what they need wen they can not communicate."  Nurses Aide 

"I enjoyed the different interventions for behaviors. I learned to identify cues." Activity Professional

"I was pleased with the entire seminar. I learned so much from you and thank you so much for the training. I learned that there are many different ways to approach different situations that happen on dementia units. Also that as a CNA it is ok to approach the family on our own and not just up to the nurses and higher staff. Also it was very insightful to see all of the different options we have while working with our residents." Nurses Aide 

"I love the parts that informed us about further training to protect us. I learned that ball toss is a horrible way to spread germs. I just know the residents loved to play it." Nurses Aide

"Pleased with emphasis on creative communication skills. Very much appreciated all fo the resources, articles and links to appropriate web sites to augment presentation." RD

"Look forward to checking out the numerous web sites for additional information. I learned so many different things today. I look forward to implementing them. I feel more comfortable now knowing the do's and don'ts . I realize i have so much to learn. I look forward to doing so. Anxious to interact with the residents in a whole new light. Thank you so much" RN   

"Everything was well presented there is a lot to teach. I enjoyed everything and learned a lot. Being a CNA, I learned many things on how to care differently for my residents. I also realized that I am already doing some of these things Sandy taught us." Nurse's Aide 

"I found all of the information very useful. Especially the communication part. I learned how to better communicate with residents and how they feel when certain things happen." Nurses Aide 

"Personal stories from the speaker entertaining and educational. I learned a few more ways to help keep the peace. Any new suggestions are helpful." Nurses Aide

"I enjoyed the entire seminar. Very thorough and interesting with excitement and understanding. All the information will be applied to daily work. Many topics such as sexual and rights topics were very interesting." Nurses Aide

"I learned communication was very important, making sure that what we are trying to say is what we are saying." Dietary Manager

"I loved being able to see examples and being able to laugh and seeing what a dementia person understands. I learned about wandering, elopement, get into their reality, medications. I definitely loved how simple things can make a person feel more comfortable like baby dolls (nursery) rocking chairs. It kind of changes my mind how I can help calm a resident and make them happy. Nurses Aide

"I really enjoyed it, very informative, loved the presentation." RN

"I was very pleased with the entire program gained a lot of knowledge. We need to work on our elopement plan and wandering." RN

"I learned a lot. I am so glad I received this training. It really made me realize what I was doing wrong." Nurses Aide

"I found out they was a lot of information out there that I did not know and this seminar showed me and I learned different things. I learned a lot of hands on to do with the residents." Nurses Aide

"So much valuable information. I hope our facility implements all the information. As a CNA I plan on using all the materials I learned today." Nurses Aide

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
September 17th 2013
Instructor: Sandra Stimson CALA ADC AC-BC CDP CDCM
NCCDP Corporate Trainer

"It was so convenient to be able to discuss on the phone. It was easy to follow with the instructor. They gave you step by step easy to understand explanations and ideas. It was great marketing experience for me. It gave me great ideas on how to promote my love of educating people about people with dementia. It was very helpful." 
Joan Kyttle DON CDP Hidden Meadows on the Ridge

"I was very pleased about the plentiful information I received. Curriculum was useful and very specific information as well, particularly how to set up a successful presentation. I learned that I am not necessarily an expert in this field but merely an educator. I feel that knowing this will give me some of the confidence to present and further research this topic more effectively."
Christopher Roche MS CRC LMHC CDP
Clinical Director Venture Forthe, Inc

---------------------------------------

Hi Sandra,

Thanks for all of the energy that you put forth to train us last Thursday. I appreciate it! All of the tools that you gave me are working properly. I will responsible for training the staff at Golden Living - Lexington and look forward to the challenge. I promise to be in touch when questions arise. I was able to sign up for the instructor only section of the website and received a quick response.

Thank you,
Carol

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class & Alzheimer's disease and Dementia Care Seminar
September 10th 2013
Philadelphia PA
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale MHA LNHA CTRS CDP

"I was pleased with the work and personal experiences of the trainer and sharing them.
Roxanne Sallurday PCHA CDP Personal Care Administrator Amber Terrace

"The depth of the materials presented. The speakers ability to mesh personal professional experiences with didactic materials."
Gail Weatherill RN BSN CDP Director of Nursing Services Martha Jefferson House

"The suggestions on possible ways to market programs, structure for different audiences and working with various agencies in collaborating ways were very helpful. I am walking away with some good ideas of how I can possibly bring this training to university students majoring in various health professions.
Rhonda Nelson Ph.D CTRS CDP Associate Professor Temple University

"I enjoyed the entire seminar and learned a great deal. All aspects of becoming a trainer and how to market myself and my company."
Diane Granger CDP CDCM ADC Private Trainer and Consultant
Granger Training and Consulting

"Practical ideas and resources especially the noise audit" Administrator

"Good refresher of validation and suggestions for activities. Great ideas especially for activities and resources that I am anxious to go home and investigate." RN

"I do a lot of training of my staff and presentation to groups. I will use the information in presentation." President of Golf Coast Dementia Services.

"The speaker was very personable and knowledgable. I learned the difference between dementia and Alzheimer's and new techniques dealing with the elderly." Nurses's Aide

"Pleased with how well organized, great ideas and good presenter was very engaging. I learned about rummaging and dining area." Assisted Living Administrator

"Presenter hit on every aspect of what I have encountered with my residents" Nurses Aide

"Good information. I learned about precise assessments to include individualized preferences beyond standard assessments." CTRS

"The way things were explained in general I liked. I learned more knowledge about techniques to imply and share with the co-workers." Nurses Aide

"I brushed up on the skills I  was taught years ago. Better ideas for activities (I learned). I learned about rummage ideas, imprint of shoes, scent on the socks (for elopement)" Nurses Aide

"I learned about sexuality. I did not know that there is no specific training on this topic. I will send information to my regional on getting someone to teach on this topic." Memory Care Assisted Living Administrator

"I enjoyed hearing real life stories and stories and information that focused on reminding us that individuals with dementia Alzheimer's are all humans and should be treated that way. I love person centered care. I learned new adaptions, activities, approaches to tray and apply at my specific facility in the near future. I highly enjoyed Danielle's presentation, professional and brought life to a long day. CTRS   

"I really found all of the information very helpful and useful. I learned how to meet the individual residents needs to promote better emotional care." LPN

"The whole seminar was pleasing. I learned about assessment tools and wandering tools." Assisted Living Administrator 

"I liked the discussion of cultures and different activities to try." Nurses Aide

"I don't usually straight line score a speaker however this speaker was great (gave all 5 top scores). I learned to go to where the person is and not have them come where you are." Nursing Home Administrator

"Very informative" Administrator

"I enjoyed the speaker sharing personal experiences that tied in with the topics. I learned to motivate myself to encourage other staff to go forward with the change of environment to create a home like atmosphere" Activity Professional

"Kept my interest, very informative, learned a lot."Nurses Aide

"I was pleased to hear that my feelings and expectations were valued and how to cope with these feelings was within my grasp. The spiritual care segment was excellent. That not all behaviors are the result of the disease but the inability to communicate a need as we are use to having needs communicated. Everything was excellent. She was awesome."  Nurses Aide

"I speak to families, professionals and train care staff so it was great to get some extra articles and a binder of information." Regional Business Development Marketing

"Very informative,kept it interesting, handouts helpful, informative for staff training." CTRS

---------------------------------------

Train the Trainer
East Windsor NJ
September 12th 2013
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Sandra Stimson CADDCT CALA AC-BC ADC CDP CDCM

"As an education, researcher and presenter I found the seminar content to be specific and current and imparting the further development of integration into the baccalaureate curriculum. As an educator, the excellent examples of policies and practices will be enfolded into the facilitation of the educational of licensed and unlicensed gerontological health care professionals. Excellent course materials and presentation. Thank you!"
Dr Susan Neville PhD RN CDP Chairperson Nursing NYIT

"As a nursing educator this seminar enhanced and expanded my knowledge of cognitively impaired elders that will contribute to improving the practice of nurses and care givers for older adults. As a presenter my awareness of the caregiver dynamics has sparked an area of interest to explore research and publish so benefit health care professionals."  
Dr. Maureen P Cardoza Ph.D RN CDP Assistant Professor New York Institute of Technology
School of the Health Professions Old Westbury NY 

"Please to receive all of the information of the modules and reviewed the ways to present them to the staff. It was very well given. The sexuality component and how important it is for staff and residents."
Kelly Holmes RN CDP CDCM Memory Care Community Director Miller Care Community

"As an educator I was particularly pleased with the overall presentation and knowledge base of the instructor and presentation skills"
LaShawn Wilcoxson RN CDP Director of Staff Development Duncaster Caleb Hitchcock

"I was pleased to participate in the role play which provided visual, verbal communication that can easily be used to train the staff. I specifically learned that this seminar provides F-tag information to provide support documentation to administration as we work together to provide the best living environments."
Shirline Ho LPN ADC CDP Recreation Specialist Bergen Health Care Center

As the director of Clinical Operations for the Natick VNA as well as a former educator I appreciated all the links and hand outs and wealth of information from the speaker. She was motivating and engaging to the seminar participants. As the Director of Clinical Operations for the Natick VA the comprehensive information I received will be invaluable with training my staff. The modules on repetitive behaviors, hoarding and aggressive behaviors were of particular interest since we se these in home care."
Patricia Bollinger-Blanc BSN Med RNBC CDP Director of Clinical Operations
Natick Visiting Nurse Association

"As a life enrichment coordinator for a continuous care retirement community I ws very pleased with how comprehensive this training was. I learned many techniques that I can share with staff at my facility. The nature of the presentation allows for an easy transition to give to employees at various levels from direct care to executive levels."
Lisa Clerman CTRS CDP Life Enrichment Coordinator Vantage House

"I am particularly interested in all of the resources that I will now be able to review and utilize. As an assistant nursing home administrator I will be taking this information back to train the staff at Golden Living Center and to help implement some of the practices on the Alzheimer's Care Unit."
Carol Kapolka MSM LNHA CDP Assistant Executive Director Golden Living Center

"A greater understanding of hoarding and repetitive behaviors. Tremendous resources in addition to a great curriculum that so many will benefit from. As an OT that specializes in dementia, I felt validated listening to the seminar and presenter. The training materials will help me reach so many care givers."
Caroline Kate Keefe OTR/L DCCI CDP Senior Health Services Director of Resident Life

---------------------------------------

Alzheimer's Dementia Seminar
Sept 12 2013
East Windsor NJ
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Sandra Stimson CADDCT CALA AC-BC ADC CDP CDCM

"I found this seminar wonderful. I would love to further my training to become a trainer. I feel empowered to go back to my facility and make some changes."  CTRS

"The whole seminar pleased me. I learned so much." CTRS

"Very informative. I learned more about my position in the activities field than I realized. I learned how my residents feel, I know what I need to do to continue on my path to further my education."
Activity Professional

"I learned how behind in the times my nursing home is and the new approaches I have learned." CTRS

"I learned new interventions to provide." Social Worker

"Pleased with the training information and nothing disappointed me. I learned different approaches to meaningful activities." CTRS

"I learned about nutrition and activities." Activity Professional

"I was very pleased on how to conduct a resident when agitated. I learned about self actualization. Help residents to boost their self esteem." Activity Professonal

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Health Care Association of Michigan / Michigan NADONA  
August 1st 2013
Lansing Michigan

"The curriculum is frequently updated to assure that the information is current. I was very happy with the tools presented at the program for me to utilize in any training I present. I was very happy with the information on support groups and the resources directory. The  information presented will add to my database."
Bonnie Beulla RN DON CDP BSHA CDONA/LTC  
Marwood Nursing and Rehab

"This seminar was very comprehensive, covering all the aspects of the patient / resident with dementia. The myriad of supportive information from books to articles to clinical practice tools was all unexpected benefit. I learned about the many links and tools on the NCCDP web site which will be very helpful both in practice and in teaching dementia in the SNF's, assisted living, clinic and hospital settings which I practice. Very good down to earth information to add to the clinical information I teach to medical and nursing students and medical residents" 
Mary C Keane GNP-BC CDP
Associate Director of Geriatrics
CMU Health  

"I appreciated the detail and content so well organized and presented in a way that was clear and interesting. I am looking forward to visiting the web sites and obtaining more education through all the resources shared. I learned how to use effective techniques and communication when assisting a dementia patient in order to make the patient feel important and increase their quality of life." 
Lori Hanover BSW CDP
Manager Social Worker
CMU Healthcare

"As an experienced gerontological nurse I appreciated the person centered focus and the practicality of the CDP training, and I may incorporate the EDGE tools. 
Donna Beabe RNC BSN CDONA CDP
Quality Improvement Coordinator
Michigan NADONA

"In my role as DON I am pleased to say, I will implement and utilize this information on a daily basis to enhance the abilities of my staff and promote resident outcomes. It will further my abilities as a devoted educator in all aspects of the Dementia Care for residents, families and staff."  
Lynae Carson RN DON CDP
Saginaw Senior Care and Rehab

"I was particularly pleased with the Person-Centered Care approach to this training. As an educator, I appreciate the thoroughness in which you explained the training techniques, and challenged my personal growth. As a consultant and educator in long term care, I learned dementia care from the perspective of the person living with the disease. I also discovered new approaches to meeting the needs of the person with the disease and their caregivers, U experienced self reflection and paradigm shifting of my ideas and concept of the disease."  
Vickie Burlew RN LNHA CEA CER CDP
Health Care Consultant Educator
Lebenbom and Rothman P.C.

'There were primary resources shared tat will be useful for the class as well as in practice. I learned useful tips and resources regarding communication and wandering."
Patricia McClees RN CDP CDON
Director of Nursing

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Class
July 9th 2013
St. Louis MO
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Lynn Biot Gordon 
MSW LCSW CDP CADDCT

"Very comprehensive education for dementia care givers. As an Administrator I will use the knowledge I have gained in this seminar to further educate and improve care for our residents in the communities I come in contact with." Charles Borst Administrator 

"Very helpful, made me excited about providing dementia care in a manner that will improve quality of life." Nursing Home Administrator

"Loved the speaker examples and enthusium and I will be bringing information back (to where I work) OTR/L

I loved the interdisciplinary approach and focus that was presented. I learned more fundamental education of what dementia is to educate family with these principles." Rehab and Speech Language Pathologist

"absolutely felt the presenter was stimulating, funny and very knowledgeable.  I loved the types of
new terminology, references.  I intend to research. I learned a lot about drugs, depression and new topics." Assisted Living Administrator
" Very pleased that speaker maintained interest in group. Material relevant I learned new technology advances in the field, reminders on how the person with dementia feels and to rethink their communication attempts." CTRS

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Alzheimer's disease and Dementia Care Class July 9 2013 Denver Colorado NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Sandra Stimson CADDCT CALA AC-BC ADC CDP CDCM

"I learned about dementia training skills" Social Worker

"Resources were incredible." Councelor

"Very informative speech, topics good information to take back to work." Thank you

"I enjoyed learning about the sensory room and all the web sites. I learned a lot about programs that can captivate as we'll as calm residents with dementia. I will implement some new programs. "Activity Professional / CNA

"Great job! I learned a lot. I learned a lot.I got lots of good ideas." Social Worker

"I was pleased with all the topics. I learned about depression, activities, behaviors, noise, end of life. This is a great seminar." Activity Professional

"I learned so much that will help me to succeed with the care of my residents and to teach my nursing staff and assistants how to care for and better deal with our residents. RN

"Pleased with updated information." Activity Professional

"Pleased with notebook. I learned new ideas for in home or in facility activities, how to prevent risks with wanderers." RN

"All the information was awesome. Very informative. I have been to a lot of workshops and dementia and still learned new information . I learned how nursing homes using censors.,Nurses aide

"Great seminar! Full of interesting facts that will be utilized." CNA

"I learned about end of life, behavior, activities, great presentation." CNA

"Loved the variety of topics, real life examples, learned more about techniques, working with dementia, elopement." Social Worker

"I learned practical interventions, suggestions for staff training, excellent binder of information" Councelor

"Presenter was very knowledgeable and passionate about topic. Held my interest the entire time. RN

" I appreciated the breadth of information covered and the fact you were prompt in your start and end times. It was helpful to learn about some of the resources available for dementia care and appropriate assessment tools.also appreciated the articles in the binder." RN

"Overall I was very impressed. So many ideas I am going to use. Assisted Living Administrator

"I loved specific information on wandering and also on dementia gardens." Counselor

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Pittsburgh PA
June 25th 2013
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Danielle Micale MHA LNHA CTRS CDP

"A clear practical way to be able to present and educate on a topic that is under discussed and addressed in  long term care."
Darla Myers BSLO LNHA RAC-CT CDP
Administrator
Sara Health

"Danielle has a well rounded professional knowledge base from which she drew relevant examples and practical tips. I learned new tips for managing and dealing with behaviors and gained many new nuggets for making the message clearer to my audiences."
Vickie Heller LPN BSAS CHES CDP
Clinical Operations Manager
Vista Care Centers

"Pointed out how important person centered care is, very good."
Julienne Brauen CDP
Cambridge Springs

"Pleasantly surprised by quality of presenter and interaction with students., I learned about the best way to present this material in a variety of settings."    
Charles Pilny MSN RN CDP
Staff Development / Quality Assurance Nurse
Just Like Family Home Care      

"Danielle's extremee knowledge provided a thorough presentation in all subject areas. Great level of detail about different types of dementia."
Kelly Ording CDP
Regional Director of Resident Programming
Watermark Retirement Communities

"Danielle was very well prepared and shared personal stories , great trainer, excellent., I learned clients are always problem solving." Counselor

"Really pleased with content of presentation. I learned to be respectful and considerate of culture, sexuality which are too often easily forgotten." Activity Professional

"Very pleased with overall material, was very interesting and very happy with whole seminar. Spread the knowledge to co workers about how to approach and interact with people with Alzheimer's also about how to create activities specifically for people with a form of dementia." Activity Professional

"Speakers sincerity with respect to the individual with Alzheimer's." Activity Professional

"Speaker good at keeping the room interested and making the topic fun." Assisted Living Administrator

"A lot of useful information. Every behavior provides for emotional and or physical need. Teaching my staff not to ignore." Counselor

---------------------------------------

Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Class
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar
Charleston SC
June 20 2013
NCCDP Corporate Trainer: Sandra M. Stimson CALA ADC AC-BC CDP CDCM

"The examples and stories presented made the materials more memorable and understandable. I particularly enjoyed the sections on repetitive behaviors, hoarding, intimacy and sexuality, activities. While I have been to programs on these topics in the past, I felt this program went much deeper and was not afraid to discuss these topics from a different angles not discussed before."
Janet Steiner  Gerontologist BS CDP
Director of Education Family Care Services  
 Brevard Alzheimer's Foundation

" Small group worked well for learning. Many good ideas to implement in programming for facilities." RN

" I need to help clients representatives evaluate the clients conditions." Owner Administrator 

---------------------------------------

NADONA Annual Conference
June 8th 2013 Pre Conference
Las Vegas Nevada
Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Seminar to become Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainers
Presenters: Sandra M Stimson CALA ADC CDP CDCM AC-BC
Lynn Biot Gordon MSW LCSW CDP CADDCT
NCCDP Executive Directors 

"As a DON the information provided was not only relevant, it was eye openning and confirming. It has renewed my passion for dementia care. I can't wait to implement my new and re-vived skills!" 
Robin Arnicar RN CDONA FACDONA RAC-CT CDP
NADONA President
Director of Nursing
Erickson Living

"The most comprehensive, up to date training course I have ever attended. The information was priceless. Every staff member from housekeeping to administrator should attend! Now that I am a certified trainer I can make that happen. (this seminar) Reinforced the importance of approach, environment and seeing the whole person. I have been teaching this to my staff for years. Now I have the tools to train them more efficiently."
Sebrina Walton RN CDP
Director of Nursing
Manoa Cottage Kimuki

"Extremely entertaining. Best information on Dementia ever attended. I completely stayed engaged. Excellent tools to educate facility and staff."  
Michael Bobbitt MSN RN CDONA CDP
Director of Nursing
Presbyterian Communities and Services 
"I am absolutely pleased of the training both Lynn and Sandra were terrific! They are the experts. The elopement, wanderer rules and regulations including tools and assessments were very crucial to our dementia care unit. Thank you!"
Rhodora "Dotts" Lacap RN BSN MS FACDONA CDP
Chief Nursing Officer
San Diego Health Care Center

"(I was pleased with) The speakers enthusiasm, tips for presenting, their experiences that were shared, loved the side stories and professionalism, spiritual aspects of the disease and sexuality issues."    
Jane Nunnelee PhD RN-BC GNP CDP
Coordinator of Gerontological Nursing Initiative
Baylor University LHSON

"The personal experiences of the speakers. As a DON I received valuable information to take back to my facility on caring for Alzheimer's and Dementia residents. It reminds me that caring for dementia and Alzheimer's residents is a true calling and not just a job."
Linda Barbee RN FACDONA CDP
Director of Nursing
Stanly Manor

"As an administrator, I plan to educate my staff in the treatment of dementia through love and understanding. I still say this is the absolute best training that I've had in my 17 years in long term care.Thank you for the tears."  
Julie Braswell RN NHA CDP
Administrator
Genesis Health Care Alleghany Center

"As a national speaker, this presentation kept my attention. It made me laugh, cry, think and I am walking away with tools and ideas to implement and share with others. This program made me think about activity programs that work and those that must be revised or eliminated."
Jo Walters RNC FACDONA CDON BD C.GN. CDP
Wellness Director
Assisted Living Concepts INC.

"Was pleased to attend the CDP training again for a refresher. Would love to have more time such as a 2 day class. (I specifically liked) the things covered of specific areas of focus on. Love to teach and role play. I cant wait to be able to present this program to NCDONA, NADONA and others."
Amanda Kistler RN CDONA FACDONA GDCN CDP
Director of Nursing

"No disappointments. Very well pleased with the information that was presented, the layout, the materials and the willingness of Lynn and Sandy to share their many resources. As an administrator believe it is essential that all staff need to understand what dementia really is, what its symptoms are, how to interact with our dementia residents. I also believe that once staff are given the tools to do their jobs at the top of their abilities, they exude a new enthusiasm and empathy and become more empowered to do more for our residents." 
Angela K Pauline NHA CRCFA CDP
Executive Director
Golden Living

"activities was very interesting. As a ADON I really enjoyed the seminar and have learned a lot on dementia and very entertaining and will take back all the knowledge to educate staff."
Vanessa Guerra LVN ADON CDP
San Juan Nursing Home

"The energy of the speakers was awesome. Very knowledgeable in the areas of presentation. (I will) attempt to have same energy and enthusiam and get all my staff to believe and practice" 
Carolyn San Miguel LVN CLTC RAC-CT CDP
ADON
San Juan Nursing Home 

"The entire seminar was very informative, intriguing and enjoyable. As a national speaker and presenter, I have to say Lynn and Sandra were at their best in providing The Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer program."  
Aysha Kuhlor RN BA CDONA CDP
Director of Clinical Services / Executive Director
Kuhlcare Staffing Inc

The section of activities pleased me
"Christina M Guerrero RN DON CDONA CDP
Director of Nursing 
San Juan Nursing Home

"As a DON and a Certified Trainer (Leading Age of Iowa) this is by far the best dementia training I have had in the 20 years as a Dementia Care Manager. All of the resources that's available through your web site, concept all staff are paid to smile and be positive. Bell choir for activity,, education and communication for famfilie the wonderful spiritual transformation outlook and view. The positiveness of the disease. Thank you so much.
Deborah Sue Koelln RN DON CDP
Director of Nursing
Perry Lutheran Home

"As an administrator at a CCRC I was pleased to see and learn more about cultural competence diversity. This is an important topic that is often forgotten and over looked. As an administrator I found the section on cognitive mapping to be valuable tool that many people communities are not using yet."
Peggy Farrington MPH MHA CDP
Administrator
Piper Shores

"As a director, I found this seminar dynamic and touched every aspect of the dementia care and gave me such a awakening. Lynn and Sandy were amazing speakers who kept the group engaged through out! Frankly, the whole day did (I was pleased with). How ever the topic on being dynamic spiritual beings and how we can connect with our inner being even if wehave dementia and how to connect with them at every level.!!!
Sonya Thibeau LSW CDP
Community Health Services
Piper Shores 

"As a national speaker and leader in Senior Care, this program blended current information with real life day to day operations."
Elizabeth Brunner RN BS NHA CDP
Vice President Operations
Alden Management Services

"The content of the seminar was excellent and very real life and immediately applicable. The CMS information and links on various web sites will be an asset."
Everley Farquharson OTR/L CDP
Administrator
Tropical Gardens Villas

"The importance of the spiritual aspect and the connecting of the two. As a speaker and trainer this seminar organized precise and extremely well presented. The materials are current and well documented. The presenters were vibrant, interactive and demonstrated much expertise in the dementia arena."
Sharonn J Bixler RN CDP
Nurse Consultant
Omnicare

"This seminar was jammed packed with information. As a presenter I was very impressed with the quality of this presentation. I laughed, I cried but I never fell asleep-not even a yawn. The resource list was the best thing. I learned a lot today, however I may not retain it all. The resource list will make it possible for me to refresh this lesson and enhance the learning experience."
Sylvia Bennett RN BSN CDONA FACDONA CDP
Nurse Consultant
SAVE Medical 

"As a national speaker in long term care and dementia training, I found the course stimulating, informative and pushing the envelope with challenge, growth and learning opportunities for caring staff who support our dementia residents."
Debra Hagerty RN DNP NHA CDONA FACDONA CDP BSN
Assistant Professor
Armstrong Atlantic State University

"I loved the examples such as (eliminating) ball toss and I too agreed with the discussion. This lecture was very informative. All aspects discussed I have seen happening at the numerous nursing homes that I am a consultant for. Suggestions to deal with these issues were discussed. These chapters and examples were realistic and right on the mark. I thought it covered the entire aspects and all areas in the facility. Thank you"
Jane Marie P Cicchiello BS BSN MSN PMH NP-BC PhD CDP
Executive Director
Twilight Beginnings

"In depth knowledge of dementia care and interventions that can be used to improve the quality of life of our dementia residents. Specific interventions that can be used for resident centered care. This really opened my eyes. I will use the content to mentor my nurses and CNA's and certify dementia unit nurses." 
Bency Punnose RN DON WCC CDP
Director of Nursing
Meadow Green Nursing and Rehab Center

"Time flew by. Not a boring seminar. Sexuality finally out in the open. I learned about how to better inform the CNA staff. Especially concerning sound suggestions to prevent elopement, causes spelled out. We don't have elopement drills that are very specific." 
Caroline Podvin RN BS CDONA QMRP CDP
Interim Director of Nursing and Nurse Consultant
Tobin and Associates

"As both a licensed Clincial Social Worker and Nursing Home Administrator, I found this seminar to invoke a new appreciation for spiritual nature and celebration of dementia care. This seminar deepened my personal commitment to improv

"Don't just meet the minimum state regulations regarding dementia education...exceed them!"

Lynn Biot Gordon, LCSW CDP CADDCT CFRDT CMDCP, Chief Operations Officer NCCDP

Sandra Stimson, CADDCT CALA, ADC, CDP, CDCM, Chief Executive Officer NCCDP