2020 Testimonials.

"Quality is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, intelligent direction and skilled execution. It represents the wise choice of many" Author Unknown

 

Thank you for being the best part of NCCDP

Dear Ms. Stimson and Ms. Biot-Gordon,

On behalf of American Senior Communities, I would like to endorse the National Council of Certified Dementia Practitioners.

I have had the pleasure of being both a Certified Dementia Practitioner and Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer for approximately a full decade. In that time, I have used the NCCDP Alzheimer's and Dementia Education curriculum to provide training to hundreds of dementia care team members on behalf of two LTC providers; teaching others to better serve elders living with various forms of dementia with greater efficacy and compassion.

I have found this organization to act consistently with the highest level of professionalism, integrity, and customer service.  Most impressive is your continued involvement in the day to day operations of the organization, Sandra and Lynn, as you continue to assist in the service of those of us offering education in the public and professional sectors, by personally answering emails, and making phone calls to provide assistance and resolve challenges as they occur.

ASC Memory Care remains steadfast in our commitment to utilizing NCCDP products, and we were pleased to add two additional Regional CADDCT’s to our Home Office Memory Care Support team this past December.  We added the additional trainers so that we may better reach more of our care community team members in the service of our elders living with A.D. and related forms of dementia.  We will also be introducing the Support Group leader certification in our Memory Care Weekly Message tomorrow, 3/26/18, that will reach all our ASC Memory Care, Community, and Regional leaders within our company to encourage them to take advantage of this exciting new certification opportunity.

Thank you for the provision of your excellent dementia training curricula, and for your support of our efforts. We look forward to future and long-lasting collaborative efforts as we continue to expand our service energies across the state of Indiana, and potentially, beyond.

Most gratefully and sincerely,

Melanie K. Perry, M.S., CDP, CADDCT
Director of Memory Care Support Services
American Senior Communities 

---------------------------------------------------

Date: August 7, 2020
Location: Tarrytown, NY (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer David Bahamonde Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned about the complexities of dementia/Alzheimer's. The course covered signs, drug therapies, early on-set and late on-set characteristics. In regards to senior care placement, I found valuable information on what to look for in the different living options. Is there a wandering plan? Are activities tailored to individual needs? Are employees trained to properly manage memory care patients? And many more. This will help in informing families and future residents of what to look for when reviewing senior living options. I found it informative! The length of screen time was a little difficult, but in these times it was the only option. The presenter was great!"
Lisa Pike, Senior Care Advisor

"I learned and was refreshed on a multitude of things. I loved reviewing behavior expressions and how to handle them. I received ideas on what and how I need to train my staff. I also learned some new ideas and techniques for elopement drills. It was all very helpful."
Victoria Allen

"I found the most interesting topics and concepts discussed in the seminar to be those concerning the areas of wandering, bathing, dining and culture change, as well as parallel programming. As a leader, the concepts will enable me to educate staff on critical areas, techniques and functions. Lastly, I aim to apply what I obtained from this seminar to enhance my effectiveness within the workplace. I found all aspects of the seminar to be informative as I am passionate about learning more to enhance the quality of life for dementia and Alzheimer's residents."
Trishana Howard, Memory Care Program Director

---------------------------------------------------

Date: August 13 & 14, 2020
Location: Beacon Institute (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"This is a very organized and thorough method of presenting a complete understanding of Alzheimer's and Dementia. The flow is very good and covered topics that are practical and pertinent. I appreciate the extra books and suggestions for reading. Overall was very pleased."
Lori Mika

"I have worked in the dementia field for 25+ years and have been a CDP since 2015. I learned new ZOOM teaching techniques from Danielle and new examples of situations and techniques related to specific behaviors and communication skills. Thank you. The curriculum has improved dramatically since 2015. Danielle did an outstanding job with the presentation and the content."
Doreen Putnam, CADDCT, CDP, CEO, CMDCP, CIPG

---------------------------------------------------

Date: August 18, 2020
Location: Rockford, IL (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"Information regarding the diversity culture, aggressive behavior, and breakout of intimacy and aging. All of it was very informative. Even on items I am very well experienced in, the different facility perspective was helpful."
Jessica Cannon, CEO/CFO

"There were numerous tips, techniques and resources provided to help me effectively coach and train my staff to enhance the care we are providing. Would have been better in person but understand the current situation."
Deborah Serafine, CDP, ALA, PCHA

"In every aspect of the training, I was able to take resources to apply to my position. There are many new tools that can be used for residents and families. Long day using "zoom" but blessed to still have the class during this pandemic."
Viki Nulph, CDP

"I learned practical information that helped in my understanding of how to handle Dementia and Alzheimer's. It broadened my perspective and awareness of best practices to help the residents I work with."
Lauren Ingraham, CDP, Memory Care Coordinator

 

---------------------------------------------------

Date: June 5, 2020
Location: Pittsburgh, PA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"The trainer, Danielle, was interesting and engaging. She sprinkled stories with Dementia related examples throughout the seven hours further enhancing the material. She was open and welcomed questions and audience participation. The training was a good overview of Dementia in a seven hour period."
Michelle Jessup, CDP RN BSN BA

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 21, 2020
Location: Cleveland, OH (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned more about dementia, different types and some great resources to share with my clients. The first half was the most useful for me; the second ½ applies more to communities/care. A lot of the information I already know, but learned or reinforced how to work through specific situations, what can help communities/homes in their care, etc."
Susan Allard, Senior Placement Specialist

"Lots of great refreshers and reinforcements on best dementia care practices. Also very helpful with resources and group environment was great for learning what others are doing. Trainers were excellent."
Caselle Reinke

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 31, 2020
Location: Philadelphia, PA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I thought the content was extremely interesting and all nurses should be required to take the class. I developed a much clearer understanding of the disease process, as well as methods in how to interact with residents/patients."
Amy Murphy, Regional Director

"Danielle's passion and knowledge on the topic was remarkable; She kept my attention start to finish. I'm looking forward to carrying over several techniques/ideas taught. The importance of validation; being aware of ‘object of affection to object of infliction' found it to be extremely powerful! Also that behaviors/reactions are forms of non-verbal communication and the importance of listening to these cues to assist our elders' needs."
Jessica Dean, NBCOT OOTA WVOTA

"In depth knowledge on dementias in addition to Alzheimer's. Gained insight on feeling validation for a dementia patient. As a hospice community engagement coordinator, I will be utilizing this information and certification to include in my presentation to the community about the services that we offer to our patients including our dementia patients."
Angelique Bonadio, CDP

"The validation chapter and the importance of EMOTIONAL MEMORY are very powerful for me! New learnings! Love the information the bibliography and the list of resources are helpful. Thank you. The speaker, Ms. Micale, is AMAZING and engaging. The zoom seminar went well!"
Mariella Zuniga, OTR/L NBCOT

"I definitely think the in person seminar you are able to role play and get to know each other better. However, given the circumstances, I think the zoom meeting was still effective in communicating the necessary information. I greatly enjoyed the communication chapter."
Maggie Perino, CDP UBSW Director of Social Services

"It was all informational and helpful in my day to day position. Danielle did an amazing job keeping us all actively listening and held our attention!"
Kimberly Koehring-Weinmann, CDP LSW Corporate Director of Business Development

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 14, 2020
Location: Richmond, VA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"There were specific environmental aspects that were discussed that I wish to implement on the Dementia Unit in my facility. I also found the Intimacy & Aging Video interesting and many aspects of this presentation supports many of the modalities that we use in my facility."
Cherisse Harrison-Manning, CADDCT, CDP, MSHSM

"During the seminar I learned the aspect of being prepared and also how to assist/equip staff and caregivers with stress reduction."
Jacquetta Wright, LPN/Memory Care Director

"Very good info all the way through the seminar; particularly of the color contrasting for meals (dish, cloth etc.) smaller portions vs. larger portions at mealtime, the yellow footprints on the floor leading to the restrooms, clever! Great presentation!"
Pandora Hall

"I enjoyed learning more about the person-centered approach with regards to activities because that is what we are trying to execute every day."
Audrie Tunney, Life Enrichment Director

"I learned more in depth information regarding different types of dementia and now treatment strategies. I will apply this information everyday working with dementia patients in SNF for improved treatment outcomes. It was great 100%"
Angela Keen, COTA/L

"There were many great reminders to humanize people with dementia, treat all with respect and kindness, and use reason to troubleshoot behaviors. It is always up to the caregiver to change and never the dementia patient/resident."
Wendy Harris, CADDCT, CDP, CSA

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 9, 2020
Location: Seattle, WA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"As a post graduate student entering the field, with limited experience working with older adults, this online seminar allowed me to learn through the slides, conversations and stories shared from those with all different backgrounds and experiences. This well rounded way of learning was useful and kept my focus and interest throughout the day. While there are many things that I took away from the seminar, I think it was great to identify certain approaches and techniques that I may have used in the past. It was a good review and reminder to continue to be flexible."
Melissa Uva, Expressive Therapist

"Very satisfied with the seminar. It covered a wide variety of topics that were realistic to implement and many resources to refer to for additional info or use in the future."
Julie Shives, OTR/L

"One thing that really stuck out to me was when the presenter explained that ‘residents revert back to their first languages during a certain stage of their dementia.' I had a resident that experienced this but I was unaware of this knowledge at that time. The whole seminar was amazing and informational. I was very pleased."
Sofia Logan, Life Enrichment Director

"A lot of good material. Some was review, some was new. As a placement agent, I can apply this knowledge to help my clients evaluate memory care options for their family."
Karl Winkelman, Senior Placement Agent

"I learned many things pertaining to the identification of (and treatment of) dementia and Alzheimer's. One of the main ways I will be applying this to my career is in community outreach and education with first responders and more, as well as support groups for family members of our residents."
Nina Bowen, Senior Lifestyle Counselor

"The content surrounding sexual rights of residents was all new information – additionally, learning the symptoms/identifying each different form of dementia was new, as well. Rachelle is AMAZING."
Abigail Ferris, Memory Care Coordinator

"Loved all the resources provided. You did a great job interacting with us on Zoom! This is not always easy – loved the gender identity during sexuality."
Cindy Altmayer, AL/MS Manager

"Great resources! In my role, my department coordinates with clinical and Lifestyle Enrichment/Activities. So much good info to share and take back to our teams. Very pleased by ease of online zoom format. I was nervous about reliability of tech sustaining on all day session. Success!"
Suzanne Gundlach, Director of Social Services

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 7 & 9, 2020
Location: (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I really liked the term "presentations" instead of stages, because everyone is so different! Like Denise said, some people may back and forth between presentations of symptoms. I will use this as I present to families and organizations about dementia. Also, I appreciated her further explanation of validation in the early stages of dementia and how it is still important, but may look different. I will use this as I work in the community with people in early stages."
Megan Kooker

"The class was a wonderful refresher for me on many topics. I especially enjoyed the breakdown of topics during the second day. It reminded me that person centered care covers all aspects of care. It would have been nice to see more interaction between participants, although I know that is difficult in an online setting. Overall, very informative and well done."
Anne Martinez, MT-BC

"I learned much more about the emotional state of my residents and how to tune in more to their needs and potential stressors. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing Denise's examples from residents in her past, family members, or her own struggles and how she was able to aide them. It was definitely strange to do a seminar like this online, however, I think Denise did a great job at engaging everyone and made it feel more ‘normal'."
Samantha Plough, Memory Care Coordinator

"I learned how vital validation feelings (of an Alzheimer's/Dementia resident) truly is. Also, chat validation and re-direction can happen simultaneously and serve to promote safety, a sense of independence and overall well-being. I enjoyed it all. Denise was very engaging. I also liked that it was a 2-part series!"
Antoinette Morgan, RN, IP

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 9, 2020
Location: Seattle, WA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned about the progression of Dementia and how to redirect complicated behaviors. I will apply this knowledge in my work as an elder care consultant. I was very pleased."
Annamarie Buonocore, Owner/Operator

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 14, 2020
Location: Richmond, VA (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned quite a bit about communication principles, specifically the importance of providing context for tasks. As a Recreation Assistant remembering this during activities will provide a more successful experience for the residents, as well as bringing clarity to how I plan and facilitate enrichment programming. Use of props as cueing tools for reminiscence activities is something that seems so simple after it was presented, I had a ‘why am I not doing that' moment, and have already started incorporating it."
Matthew Bebermeyer, Recreation Assistant

"I learned Alzheimer's Disease – presentations and stages, and communication principles. As a Sales Manager I will be able to use this information to help families navigate through the process of finding a Memory Care environment that is best for their needs. I found all of the information to be helpful. Some I have heard before during in-services but there was definitely so much to learn."
Kelly Astbury, Sales Manager

---------------------------------------------------

Date: July 21, 2020
Location: Cleveland, OH (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned more than I could ever list in one evaluation – I am so jazzed and ready to get this party started. I realized from what I learned that my students will really benefit from this training. Woohoo!"
Dr. Karen-Sue Newby, PsyD, MAEd, HMCT, AC-BC, CADDCT, CDP

"The information on how to better care for a person with dementia was useful and there were some things I hadn't thought of before, specifically presenting a person with five questions in order to distract them. The section on sexuality was also useful; sexuality issues and concerns within facilities can be tricky to navigate. I wish I had been able to attend the seminar in person, but all of America is telecommuting right now. It would have been good to be able to meet the other practitioners in person as well as the instructor."
Lena Malik, Resident Care Associate

"Some of what I learned were refreshers but refreshers are always good! However, I learned a lot about the new technologies and many resources that will help me continue my journey as a life enrichment director and help further my education to be an administrator one day. Everything was great!"
Cayla Chappelle, Life Enrichment Director

"There was so much content covered! All very relevant and useful. I learned so much and took notes. Really appreciated hearing from other attendees with their work experiences. Activities – the range of ideas was inspiring and the need for well trained staff in memory care units/assisted living."
Melanie Henry

---------------------------------------------------

Date: May 1, 2020
Location: Rochester, NY (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"This class was very informative, interesting and in depth. As a PTA, I plan to apply much of this information to the dementia population I work with."
Allison Aiken, PTA

"This was a wonderful, informative seminar! Although I would have preferred to attend an in-person seminar, I was still able to follow along and engage successfully (through ZOOM). The student handout notebook is an excellent resource that I will certainly reference from now on. I now feel more confident in my role as an SLP when working with patients with dementia and their care partners."
Natasha Patete, SLP

"I received great information, many resources throughout the notebook/additional reading resources at the end of each chapter. The information that was covered was great."
Connie Young

---------------------------------------------------


Date: June 23, 2020
Location: Detroit, MI (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"Very good tools provided. Will be able to offer those in training. Appreciate stories. Reversible & irreversible dementia – good to learn & appreciate definitions – so many think it's just Alzheimer's. Intimacy and Sexuality presentation is a difficult topic for many – very enlightened. Rachelle was a resource of information, links, YouTube, etc. It was a long Zoom, but necessary and so happy that it was offered."
Kristen Marshall, CADDCT, CDP, Senior Care Consultant

"I learned best practices when it comes to caring for and enhancing people's lives that are living with Alzheimer's or Dementia. I want to help educate all the Assisted Living facilities I partner with to better care for their residents."
Angela Coleman, CADDCT, CDP, Senior Care Advisor

"Resources were great – will be using them in the future both for the class when I teach it and to be a resource for our clients."
Scott Dow, CADDCT, CDP, Certified Senior Advisor

"Learning new tools to use in showing the level of dementia someone may be in was very helpful. Also, observing Rachelle and how she engaged in role play to explain to others how they can engage with dementia patients was very helpful."
Mandi Purvis, Administrator

"Strategies to help caregivers deal with wandering and other challenging behaviors which I can pass onto the caregivers I work with. I also learned of a variety of helpful resources and activities that I can utilize while facilitating our dementia respite programs. I enjoyed the entire seminar and was pleased with the information presented."
Darlene Holan, LCSW

"I learned so much during this seminar. The highlights for me were the best practices shared in all areas which I will be utilizing to enhance service delivery to my clients."
Cherie Crews, CALA

"The sections on sexuality & intimacy, end of life care and depression were particularly informative/new to me. The instructor & other students also shared a lot of great resources for future use – products, links, activities & techniques. It was remarkably engaging for an all day online program! Rachelle did a great job of connecting with the audience despite the remote format."
Sara Perry, Executive Director

"I have a memory care unit in my facility. I've learned numerous, great interventions for behaviors."
Rachel Reynolds, Executive Director

"Great ideas for including staff in the creation of the memory care community. Great info on sexuality/LGBTQ. Rachelle was a very engaging facilitator! Knowledgeable! She ensured every participant (all 39) were able to partake!"
Laurel Picard-Lenski, CDP, Life Enrichment Director

"This was the first virtual class that I enjoyed! She did well trying to keep us involved and entertained. I was able to pick up some good care ideas for my building."
Jennifer Kibler, Assistant Resident Director

"This presentation provided a plethora of resources to access when needed. Even on ZOOM, I feel that the interaction between trainer and viewers was a comfortable setting and also informative."
Lisa McGuire, Long Term Care Ombudsman

---------------------------------------------------

Date: June 17, 2020
Location: Minneapolis, MN (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I enjoyed learning about the new devices for the wanderers and also on how to understand about the LGBTQ - never had any knowledge on how to deal with people diagnosed with Dementia. The seminar was very knowledgeable. I enjoyed the chapters."
Kimberlee Black-Banks, Activity Director

"I've learned a lot about Dementia and the types. I will apply the knowledge I've learned to continue my Senior Living Career, especially in activities."
Jennifer Senior, Resident Program Coordinator

"I now understand how to better work with dementia clients. I understand the reasons for some of their behavior. This will definitely help me in my home care agency."
Taneil Rogers, Owner

"I have learned about many aspects of dementia and Alzheimer's Disease. What I learned that I truly felt was most helpful was the variety of approaches to adapting care to those who have dementia at any stage. I felt the course included very thorough information and was very informative."
Mara Sobrano, CDP, Invest Coordinator

"I learned about some practical strategies for working with people with dementia (creative ways to maintain dignity while attending to needed cares). This will be valuable information to build upon as I continue working in our communities on creating a dementia friendly community. Having the training ONLINE was difficult, but there was no way of preventing that due to the pandemic."
Stacie Speirs, Regional Coordinator

"I am currently a director of a memory care and I feel like the information I learned today I can use daily and share with my team to better our community and residents' lifestyle. Due to the circumstances of moving online, this class was well put together!"
Angelica Riggle, Garden House Supervisor

"Very well presented and she spoke so well in detail and managed to learn quite a lot."
Eisha Nathwani, CDP, Life Enrichment Coordinator

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 11, 2020
Location: Richmond, VA
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"The real life stories helped relate to the material being taught. I learned techniques for aggressive behaviors with residents and tips for promoting a safe environment."
Margaret Girardi, Program Director

"Denise was a wealth of information & resources. Her continued reinforcement of treating the person as a person, with dignity and respect, is non-negotiable. Knowing how to approach, communicate with and care for people with dementia takes thought and consideration."
Jamie Houston, Executive Director

"There is so much that I learned. It also reinforced what I have been doing. I want to share this information with the rest of our staff."
A.Lockhart, Activities Director

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 11, 2020
Location: Raleigh, NC
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Lynn Biot-Gordon Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"During the seminar I became more knowledgeable regarding environmental changes that can be made to decrease adverse behaviors and improve the quality of life of residents, as well as assisting families in being involved in care."
Jordan Vezina, Speech Language Pathologist

"I will apply the topics covering aggression and how to deal with behaviors in the work place. Learning that there is an agency willing to come provide education and instruction is helpful. I loved this course. EXCELLENT presentation, Mrs. Biot-Gordon!"
Avis Bethea, Occupational Therapist

"So many good things! Enjoyed the discussion on communication and behaviors. Excited to share this information and discuss with my staff. Awesome program! So motivating! Loved it all! So glad I came!"
Irene Sellers, RN, BSN

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 7, 2020
Location: Boonton, NJ
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned how to better assess and care for Alzheimer's and Dementia residents, noticing the differences between the different types and how to render care based on each individual. This particular trainer was dynamic; not reading from the powerpoints and inserted real life situations into the lessons."
Amberlee Bundrick, CDP, CADDCT, RN, ADON

"Despite 35 years as an RN with a great deal of experience caring for Dementia patients, this course gave me many new perspectives. I think it will be of great value to our patients and families. Danielle was an excellent presenter. She kept us engaged. She is an excellent orator and witness to the benefits of this course."
Donna Russo, CADDCT, CDP, RN, MSN

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 1, 2020
Location: Tempe, AZ
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Nellie Stolarz Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"It was a great, very thorough overview of dementia. I truly enjoyed Nellie's teaching style. She is experienced, interesting – good sense of humor."
Marilyn Rowley, CADDCT, CDP, Attorney

"This training opened my eyes to the caregiving needs and strategies people with dementia require. This will be a great benefit as we help make referrals for our families."
Sondra Ziegler, Executive Director

---------------------------------------------------

Date: January 29, 2020
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Nellie Stolarz Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"The seminar helped to reinforce that as dementia progresses you must adjust how you communicate to suit a person's changing needs. I learned new interventions in communication with dementia and Alzheimer's population. I was very pleased with the seminar."
VP of Corporate Training

---------------------------------------------------

Date: May 12, 2020
Location: Long Island, NY (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer David Bahamonde Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned to ensure you obtain all information about your resident: past family life, employment, likes/dislikes, preferences, etc. … to fully understand their psycho-social needs. This will help us to individualize the care that we provide."
MaryJane LePard, RN MDS Coordinator

"I was most interested in learning many ways to communicate with loved ones and caregivers. I especially appreciated the Sandra Day O'Conner perspective as it will help me navigate that type of conversation again. ‘Live Their Truth' conversation was quite meaningful."
Becky Straley, Client Care Specialist

---------------------------------------------------

Date: May 12, 2020
Location: Chicago, IL (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I found the many resources given to be helpful and I look forward to exploring further to help my clients. Being a nurse for 17 years and working in the dementia field, I am familiar with much of the material but I found the review helpful. I also found the in depth discussions Rhonda led were great and provided a wealth of knowledge I plan to incorporate in my practice."
Jennifer Sherwood, Geriatric Nurse Care Manager

"I learned about a ton of book, video and general resource websites to pull accurate information for the training portion of my job. Some resources were new to me. So many facts about "behaviors" were helpful and how to treat them. Mixing the lesson with the staff/participant information on activity ideas was great – like how to improve quiet time activities, individual projects like postman, environment changes like no glare floor. All ideas will help me with my job in content creation and training."
Kristin Hoffman, MS CCC-SLP

"This training was very informative. I enjoyed hearing the different ideas that other people use to engage with residents. It was also nice to hear some of the tips and tricks. Also kudos to the instructor. She was very engaging and kept my attention. Doing online classes can be tiring and she kept us going the entire class."
Stephanie Perez

---------------------------------------------------

Date: June 3, 2020
Location: Tampa, FL (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer David Bahamonde Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"It was an excellent overview of Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia. I loved the inclusion of websites to go to for other resources to aid in learning to be a more effective caregiver. I will be passing this information along to other caregivers in my role as a mental health educator."
John Dawson, RN

"I learned effective interventions to incorporate with facilities. I also learned so much about the importance of wandering/elopement and different ways to address the concerns with caregivers and/or facilities."
Amanda Trindade, Social Worker

"David exhibits excellent skill when it comes to expressing ideas and examples with clarity. He gave a clear and well-structured presentation and engaged the class before, during and after delivering the seminar. He responded well to questions and issues, as well. Great class!"
Serena Turpin

"I learned so many things from this seminar but culture change and person centered care stood out for me. Detailed information and questions that need to be included in initial assessment/intake will be utilized in my practice/career."
Blessing Osayemi, Therapy Program Assistant

"I am an instructor for LTC, 1st Responders, Public Agencies, Crisis Interventions and more. It will help me with more tools in my arsenal! Thank You!"
Kathy Lyles, RN

---------------------------------------------------

Date: May 20, 2020
Location: Omaha, NE (ZOOM Online)
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Denise Scruggs Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I currently work with our memory care unit and this has truly helped me to care for them and find alternative ways to help them and to communicate and know their needs."
Jusamia Gomez, LVN

"As a dementia unit manager, I focused on learning at the seminar about the 7 Stages of Dementia. I can assist my residents that have poor short term memory by talking about their loved ones on a daily basis."
Evangeline Iavarone, Country Cottage Coordinator

"The course was a good reminder that best practice is always to treat our residents with empathy and respect. The need for an individualized approach to the care of each resident was reinforced and I will try to put more emphasis on this strategy going forward."
Diane Mann, Lifestyles Director

"I always enjoy learning/re-learning types of dementia. I also find it useful to talk about behaviors and different ways to redirect. As a Wellness Director, I will use these tools with care planning and staff education."
Lindsey Pierce, RN

"I learned how important non-verbal communication is to successfully caring for residents with dementia. I will make sure to keep my body language open when speaking to residents so that they won't feel isolated or ignored. This will help develop trust with my residents."
Stephanie Wood, Lifestyles Coordinator

"It was nice to do a deeper dive into behavioral-psych issues and discuss things like sexuality, aggressive behaviors, and real scenarios that happen in late stages."
Jessica Rustici, Educator

"All the information that I have learned during this seminar will help me better connect with my memory care residents and provide better care for them. The seminar was full of new information and care techniques – some that I have never thought of trying!"
Jessica Hartmann, MS

"I very much appreciated the portion of the presentation that reviewed the various illnesses that can cause dementia and the importance of obtaining a proper diagnosis. It was also beneficial to hear real life stories and interventions. Thank you! It was a pleasure and I am eager to take another course."
Erica Haughton, LMSW

"Hearing so many scenario examples was so helpful to relate to residents I serve and how I can serve them best. Denise and the information were all wonderful."
Amber Lihs, Life Enrichment Coordinator

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for your incredible instruction today for the NCCDP course. You (Denise Scruggs)  were informative, knowledgeable, and inspirational. My very best for a safe and healthy future!

Erin Stern, OTR/L

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 24, 2020
Location: Rockford, IL
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I increased my knowledge on how to more effectively communicate with Dementia patients and their families. How to get them engaged in their care and more effectively manage any inappropriate behavior."
Sylwia Duda, CADDCT, CDP, RN

"Such great information! So glad I was able to attend. Instructor was amazing."
Briana Johnson, CDP, Social Service Director

---------------------------------------------------

Date: February 28, 2020
Location: Philadelphia, PA
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Danielle Micale Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned many new things today. I particularly was interested in the discussion on dining services and could see so many areas that my company could improve. Also – activities and engaging the residents. There were so many helpful ideas about creating activity centers – nursery, kitchens, store for engaging residents. Also policies and procedures for elopement and keeping residents safe. Enjoyed all the material – It was a good refresher and I learned new things that I can use and train others."
Merri Ney, CADDCT, CDP, PCHA, ALA, LPN

"I appreciated the statistics, research and resources to add to my existing knowledge base. I will be able to educate family, as well as staff; I can provide classroom, as well as point of care reminder education. The instructor's method was informative, engaging and thought provoking. The time went much quicker than I imagined. Keep doing what you're doing!"
Elizabeth Seeds, CADDCT, CDP, RN

---------------------------------------------------

Date: March 3, 2020
Location: Charlotte, NC
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Rachelle Blough Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I learned different tools to apply in my practice and share with others to help advocate for our field. I really enjoyed new and creative ways to care plan appropriately, as well as the forms on mental health in correlation to unmet needs."
Sydney Cahill, CTRS

---------------------------------------------------

Date: March 6, 2020
Location: Providence, RI
NCCDP Corporate Trainer David Bahamonde Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"I will use the training to train home care providers in my state. The day went along without feeling like it was dragging. Useful information presented in a useful/understandable manner."
Nichole Vondette, CADDCT, CDP, Case Manager Supervisor

"I learned the importance of communicating patients' specific needs and wants. I also learned the importance of different type of health benefits to cover for long-term placements. The trainer was very professional with a great sense of humor."
Rachel Ethier, RN

"Gained better understanding of LGBTQ and will incorporate that knowledge into my in-service trainings and staff orientation. The seminar material was comprehensive and well done."
Laura Lynn Morrissey, CDP

---------------------------------------------------

Date: March 12, 2020
Location: Houston, TX
NCCDP Corporate Trainer Nellie Stolarz Vice President Corporate Training
CADDCT Certified Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Trainer Certification Seminar
ADDC Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Care Seminar

"Many of the concepts taught at the seminar are similar to what we use every day at our memory care community. It was refreshing to re-affirm the topics we use and learn new ideas that are outside of the typical. Thanks! Would highly recommend course to others."
Ted Fletcher, Executive Director

"In depth look into Dementia care field, services and insight on person centered care. Incredible resources to research and learn in coming months."
Amanda Goode, RSC

 

---------------------------------------------------

 

 

"Don't just meet the minimum state regulations regarding dementia education...exceed them!"

Lynn Biot Gordon, LCSW CDP CADDCT CFRDT CMDCP, Chief Operations Officer NCCDP

Sandra Stimson, CADDCT CALA, ADC, CDP, CDCM, Chief Executive Officer NCCDP